The Marco Island Historical Society (MIHS) presents the public opening for a dramatic one-of-a-kind permanent outdoor gallery — Windows & Doors to History — at the Marco Island Historical Museum (MIHM). The Windows & Doors to History gallery opens to the public on February 18 with an event from 1 to 3 PM. There is no admission charge.
Windows & Doors to History extends Marco Island Historical Museum exhibitions to the outside of the Museum with 20 faux windows, three faux doors, and a three-panel column that depict vivid scenes from Marco Island’s rich history. Works of art on the outside walls of the museum complex will depict and bring to life eras from 10,000 years of Marco Island history from the Pleistocene, Archaic, Glades and Calusa periods to the pioneer period and modern Marco. Portraits of individuals who had great influence on Marco Island history also will be presented.
Each of the scenes tells a story and illuminates the unique history and qualities of the island and its peoples through the ages. Artists consulted with Artistic Director and MIHS Curator of Collections Austin Bell for ideas and historical accuracy.
Participating artists are John Agnew, Paul Arsenault, Merald Clark, Muffy Clark Gill, Tara O’Neill, Jarrett Stinchcomb and Malenda Trick. According to MIHS ExecutiveDirector Pat Rutledge, “Each of these artists has a shared history with MIHS, and a passion for the exciting vision for this unique and dynamic project.”
According to Windows & Doors to History Project Director and MIHS Enterprise Manager Lori Wagor, “Working with the MIHS team and these amazing and dedicated artists to bring Windows & Doors to History to fruition has been an experience of a lifetime! This one-of-a-kind outdoor gallery is a gateway into our history that will be experienced by thousands of Southwest Florida residents and visitors from around the world.”
Each window and door for Windows & Doors to History was underwritten by Marco Island patrons to raise funds to bring “home” on loan some of the Key Marco Calusa artifacts, including the Key Marco Cat, excavated during Frank Hamilton Cushing’s world-famous 1896 archaeological expedition on Marco Island. These priceless objects now are held at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of Natural History, Florida Museum of Natural History, the University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology and British Museum.
The Marco Island Historical Museum is located at 180 S. Heathwood Drive. The Museum is open Tuesday through Saturday, from 9 AM to 4 PM. Admission is free and the site is handicapped accessible. For general information visit www.themihs.org or call 239-642-1440.