Thursday, December 9, 2021

No Excuse for Indifference

More Straight Talk


America always has been a nation that reveres its men and women who have come forward to serve the nation. As I think about this, I am particularly saddened as of late by how the voices that would always come forward to honor those who serve seem to have fallen silent.

As I write, we are 122 days into 2021 and already have lost 119 Law Enforcement Officers – heroes in the line of duty. In addition, five Police K-9s have been killed. They have been shot, stabbed and intentionally run down by cars. They have contracted viruses, drowned in freezing waters and been involved in horrific motor vehicle accidents.

There has been little to no media coverage, and no outrage. They are deemed to be just men and women whose personal calling, called for their ultimate sacrifice. They can never tell their moms or dads they love them, never hold that person special to them close again, see their little boy play his first t-ball game, or watch with pride as their daughter or son walks down the aisle.

It was ironic I came across a posting regarding this, so I thought you should all see their names. All of America needs to hear their names and not be ashamed of these wonderful men and women who go out and do a job that needs to be done.

We need to understand that these men and women were sons, daughters, brothers, sisters, husbands and fathers. They are the reason this nation does not teeter on anarchy. They are why your children are safe to play in the park and they are the cost of keeping us all safe.

Sergeant Gordon William Best, Sergeant Daniel Marcus Mobley, Lieutenant Jeff Bain, Deputy Sheriff Nicholas Howell, Sergeant Randall Sims, Deputy Sheriff Jonathan David Price, Police Officer Jay Hughes, Officer Brian David Sicknick, Sergeant David G. Crumpler, Lieutenant William Lyle Gardner, Conservation Officer Steven Reighard, Police Officer Arturo Villegas, Master Corporal Brian Roy LaVigne, Agent Luis A. Marrero-Díaz, Agent Luis X. Salamán-Conde, Agent Eliezer Hernández-Cartagena, Police Officer Melton “Fox” Gore, Sergeant Frederick H. “Butch” Cameron, Detective Sergeant Stephen R. Desfosses, Chief of Police Tony M. Jordan, Corporal Christine Peters, Constable Sherry Kay Langford Lieutenant Treva Preston, Corrections Officer IV Alfred Jimenez, Police Officer Jerry Steven Hemphill, Sergeant Edward John Marcurella, Jr., Lieutenant John Reynolds, Corrections Officer Joseph A. Martini, Deputy Sheriff Adam Gibson, Police Officer Brandon M. Stalker, Warrants Officer Toby Keiser, Deputy Sheriff Jacinto R. Navarro, Jr., Officer Byron Don Shields, Lieutenant Frank Arnold, Special Agent Wayne Douglas Snyder, Captain Michael D’Angelo Garigan, Lieutenant Juan Rafael Rivera-Padua, Auxiliary Sergeant Louis M. Livatino, Director of Field Operations Beverly Good, Sergeant Tommy W. Cudd, Sergeant Jeffery Robert Smith, Special Agent Robert Allan Mayer, Jr., Sergeant William Brautigam, Correctional Officer Juan Llanes, Sergeant Grace A. Bellamy, Lieutenant Michael Boutte, Special Agent Laura Ann Schwartzenberger, Special Agent Daniel Alfin, Detention Officer Robert Perez, Agent Juan Rosado-López, Patrolman Darian Jarrott, Detective Pedro Junior “Pete” Mejia, Officer Cesar Dangaran Sibonga, Deputy Sheriff Ross Dixon, Corrections Officer IV Vicky James, Investigator Eddie B. Hutchison III, Chief of Police Timothy John Sheehan, Deputy Sheriff Donald Raymond Gilreath III, Police Officer Mitchell Penton, Officer Genaro Guerrero, Corrections Officer IV Tawiwo Obele, Major Estaban “Stevie” Ramirez III, Deputy Constable Manuel Phillipe De La Rosa, Sergeant Richard Paul Brown, Deputy Sheriff Michael Magli, Police Officer Horacio Dominguez, Lieutenant Eugene Lasco, Natural Resources Officer Jason Lagore, Parole Officer Troy K. Morin, Officer Carlos Mendoza, Deputy Sheriff Thomas Albanese,

Reserve Deputy Constable Martinus Mitchum, Police Officer Dominic Jared Winum, Captain Justin Williams Bedwell, Police Officer II Jose Anzora, Corrections Officer III Tracey Adams, Officer Crispin San Juan San Jose, Officer Jesse Madsen, Sergeant Barry Edwin Henderson, Deputy Sheriff Stanley “Allen” Burdic, Police Officer Gary Hibbs, Border Patrol Agent Alejandro Flores-Bañuelos, Police Officer Kevin Valencia, Sergeant LaShonda Owens, Police Officer Eric Talley, Chief of Police Fred Alan Posavetz, Correctional Officer Robert McFarland, Senior Master Trooper Todd A. Hanneken, Corporal Kyle Jeffrey Davis, Trooper Joseph Gallagher, Sergeant Shane Owens, Reserve Deputy Sheriff James Driver, Trooper Chad Walker, Corrections Officer Luis Arturo Hernandez, Sr., Police Officer William Evans, Lieutenant James Kouski, Police Officer Brent Nelson Hall, Deputy Sheriff Christopher Wilson Knight, Sergeant James K. Smith, Deputy Sheriff Thomas Patrick Barnes, Deputy Sheriff Carlos Antonio Hernandez, Border Patrol Agent Christopher Shane Simpkins, Police Officer David Parde, Constable Edward F. Ryan, Police Officer Anastasio Tsakos, Sergeant Chris Ward, Deputy Sheriff Logan Fox, Corporal Keith Heacook, Officer Chris Farrar, K9 Figo, K9 Riley, K9 Luna, K9 Kozmo, K9 Jang.

The terrible fact is that we are only 122 days into the year and the list will continue to grow. Will indifference to their sacrifices continue? America, we need to get our priorities straight.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *