Wednesday, December 1, 2021


Christmas Decorating Contest Committee Plan for the 15th Annual House and Business Decorating Contest

The Christmas House and Business Decorating Committee met recently at Sanitasole, hosted by Paula and Richard Robinson, for final preparations for the 15th Annual Decorating Contest.  Enthusiasm is building among Marco Island residents as they noted early decorations already displayed.

Marco Island has long been noted for the many outstanding Christmas decorated homes. In 2010, the contest included over 1700 homes and 125 businesses judged.  Residents and visitors alike increase their Christmas spirit by driving around the Island to see the innovative decorations.  The contest is operated by members of the committee; funded and supported financially by sponsors and committee members. The event sponsors are LCEC, the Marco Island Trolley, Centennial Bank and the Marco Island Florist.

Final Judging – Friday, December 16, 6:30 -10:30 PM

The top 10 homes are judged by the entire membership of the House Decorating Committee riding on the Marco Trolley – decorated for the evening by Marco Island Florist. Typically, there is a car caravan following the trolley so they get to see the 10 best homes in advance.

Contest Prizes

The night of the Finals, the top ten (10) receive a Finalist Plaque presented by the judging team from that area.  The winner of the House Contest receives a check for $250.00.  The House Winner and the Business Winner each receive the traditional Yard Sign and a Winners Plaque.

The addresses of the finalists and a mention of others “worth viewing” will be provided to the local media so “Christmas Revelers” may drive around Marco and view the wonderful decorations throughout the season.

Judges and Committee

The Committee Judges for the contest are:  Bob Boland, Carla and Mike Mickes, Donna and Jim Rohrbach, Nancy and Joe Carrington, Susan and Ken Kubat, Jeanne & Dave Rice, Ann & Dick Niess, Debbie and Marty Roddy, Jeanne & Dave Rice, Ann & Dick Niess, Paula & Richard Robinson, Dottie Wiener, Tricia Dorn, Liz and Bill Doyle, Ken and Diane Honecker, Jerry Swiacki, Linda Turner, and Diane Aruta and staff at Centennial Bank.

Contest Rules

Previous winners must wait 5 years before being eligible for winning again.  The 2010 winners were:  Home Winner:  Albino and Julia Martinez, 975 Leo Court; Business Winner: Marco Island Florist, 178 South Barfield,  owners; Joe and Nancy Carrington.

Former winners display their yard signs annually and continue to decorated their homes and businesses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *