Wednesday, October 20, 2021

Home & Business Decorating Contest Winners

865 Swan

865 Swan

By Richard Niess

The Marco Island House and Business Decorating Contest final judging for the 19th season took place on December 18th from 6:30 -10:30 PM. Judges traveled via trolley to visit the Top 10 House Finalists taken from the preliminary judging that traveled the Island on Wednesday, December 16.

Plaques were presented to the Top 10 Home Contest Finalists. The Winner of the Business/Non House Facility Contest receives a plaque and a yard sign for annual display on Monday, during business hours, December 21. The House Decorating winners, Ted and Debbie Broxson received a Winners plaque, yard sign and $250.00. LCEC, the events premier sponsor since the contest’s inception, provided the funds for the event. Centennial Bank annually sponsors the committees tailgate party prior to the finals.

The traditional car caravan followed the trolley to see the top 10 and was the largest caravan in the events history. In addition to the Top 10 finalists, a list of “Worth Seeing” properties are

1710 Winterberry

1710 Winterberry

listed for those who wish to view additional Christmas décor. The rules state that winners cannot repeat as winners for 5 years to ensure the opportunity for others to be successful. Many prior winners still decorate and set very high standards for everyone.

The winner of the 2015 House Decorating contest located at 161 Bermuda Rd. was one of over 1500 lighted homes judged.

2015 House Finalists – Top 10 Homes In No Particular Order:

161 Bermuda – 2015 WINNER – Ted and Debbie Broxson; 91 Bermuda; 513 Nassau; 865 Swan; 1208 Fruitland; 1591 Galleon; 1710 Winterberry; 85 Delbrook; 780 Copeland; 1580 Caxambas Ct.

Worth Viewing: 160 Bermuda; 810 Watson; 1625 Ludlow; 1753 Dogwood; 1232 Fruitland

Previous Winners – Worth Viewing: 1369 North Collier Blvd.; 151 Channel Court; 975 Leo Court; 20 Tahiti.

The winner of the Business/NonHouse Category is: Chamber of Commerce Plaza located at 1102 North Collier Blvd. Featuring lighted store fronts and a fabricated lighted Christmas Tree.

Worth Seeing in the Non House category

2015 Winner – 161 Bermuda, Ted and Debbie Broxson. SUBMITTED PHOTOS

2015 Winner – 161 Bermuda, Ted and Debbie Broxson. SUBMITTED PHOTOS

are: LaTovla Restaurant; Marco Beach Ocean Resort; Marriott Hotel; Hilton Hotel; Island Country Club.

Stated Rice, “On behalf of the committee, a sincere thank you for all who enjoy the opportunity of “Lighting up Marco” and making everyone’s Christmas and Holiday Season special.

The members of the committee are: Co-Chairperson, Jeanne Rice; Treasurer, Bob Boland, Carla and Mike Mickes; Public Relations Chairman, Dick Niess, City Councilman, Larry Sacher and Judy Sacher, Planning Board member Marty Roddy and Debbie Roddy, Paula Robinson, past Volunteer of the Year Recipient and Richard Robinson; Liz and Bill Doyle; City Councilman, Ken Honecker and Diane Honecker; Jerry Swiacki, Parks and Rec Advisory Board Chairman, Vice Chairman, Linda Turner, Director of Operations, Eagle Sanctuary; Barry and Peggy Grass; Past President, MI Area Board of Realtors, Bette McGilvray; Steven Josselyn: Sue and Jeff Hewson and Committee Chairman,and 2012 Marco Island Citizen of the Year, Dave Rice. New Members on the committee are Keith and Barbara Dameron, Sandy Dauch, |Kristina Lambros and Marc Creech.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *