Wednesday, December 8, 2021

FWC Chairman Brian Yablonski Recognized for Conservation Leadership



FWC Chairman Brian Yablonski was recognized with Audubon Florida’s Theodore Roosevelt award this weekend for reinvigorating the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s (FWC) critical wildlife areas (CWA) program. This program protects vulnerable waterbirds from disturbance, ensuring these species can survive on increasingly crowded coasts and waterways. Yablonski accepted the award at the annual Audubon Assembly- Florida’s signature conservation event with more than 300 conservation leaders.

“Because of Brian’s vision, the Commission will consider establishing 10 new CWAs and expanding five existing CWAs at its meeting this month in St. Petersburg. This move makes up for more than 20 years of no new designations by the Commission,” said Eric Draper, Executive Director of Audubon Florida. “This is a legacy in the true spirit of former President Theodore Roosevelt, who is remembered for creating the country’s National Wildlife Refuge system.”

Yablonski has served on the Commission for more than a decade and currently serves as Chairman. During his service on the FWC, Yablonski has worked to help the Commission build a strong record of conservation and sound management of Florida’s natural resources while expanding opportunities for Floridians to enjoy the great outdoors.

Audubon Florida presents the Theodore Roosevelt award each year to a decision-maker who has demonstrated vision and leadership on behalf of Florida’s natural resources. Previous award recipients include U.S. Senator Bill Nelson and state Senators Thad Altman, Charlie Dean, Dennis Jones and Paula Dockery.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *