Friday, January 21, 2022

Charter Middle School awards top athletes

Adrienne Collins. Photos by Val Simon

Adrienne Collins. Photos by Val Simon

Marco Island Charter Middle School student athletic award ceremony was held May 13 at the school gymnasium. The year found MICMS students Conference Champions in more than one category.

Boys 7th/8th grade basketball team, coached by Roger Raymond, Michael Radlovacki, and Student Coach Zach Hornsby, were undefeated Conference Champions. Each team member was awarded with a commemorative plaque for the honor. Jared Jackson was Teammate of the Year.

The Girls 7th/8th Grade Soccer team coached by Tony Smith were undefeated Conference Champions with Frachesca Archacki as Teammate of the Year.

The Girls’ Cross Country team, coached by Roger and Karen Raymond, were Sunshine State Conference Champions, as was the Boys’ Cross Country team. Teammate of the Year was Morgan

Franchesca Archacki with mom, Eureka.

Franchesca Archacki with mom, Eureka.

Dulski, girls and Stefan Langebeeke, boys.

The Co-Ed track team, yet another conference champion, saw Christy Thorstenson as the Girls Teammate of the Year and Stefan Langebeeke, Boys Teammate of the Year.

The honors of Student Athlete of the Year were awarded to Stefan Langebeeke and Cassidy Penzo.

A special Sportsmanship of the Year award in recognition of Mickey Mendel, was given to Areeb Chaudhry and Cassidy Collins.

Other Teammate of the Year awards went to:

  • Frachesca Archacki-Girls 7th/8th Grade Volleyball (A team)
  • Nicolette Ionnatta-Girls 7th/8th Grade Volleyball (B Team).
  • Ellie Bennett Girls-6th Grade Volleyball.
  • Wesley Lancaster –Boys Volleyball.
  • Cole Stretton-6th Grade Boys Basketball
  • Arianna Garousi-Girls 6th Grade Basketball
  • Cassidy Penzo-Girls 7th/8th Grade Basketball
  • Colin McMullan-Boys 6th Grade Soccer
  • Sean Wallace-Boys 7th/8th Grade Soccer
  • Ariana Garousi-6th Grade Girls Soccer
  • Colton Hail-Golf
  • Eli Smith-Tennis

[nggallery id=37]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *