Thursday, December 2, 2021


By Coastal Breeze News Staff

It was the night to celebrate the 35th anniversary of the Marco Island Area Chamber of Commerce at the Island Country Club on January 15. Not only that – to complete a triple-header, it was graduation night for the 2011 class of Leadership Marco, and the Chamber inducted its 2012 president and board of directors. All attendees received pins commemorating the anniversary.

An estimated crowd of 85 enjoyed dining on roast beef after a round of cocktails and hors d’oeuvres, and danced to some oldies and some newer tunes. Outgoing President Alan Brown, in his valedictory, commended the Chamber’s hard-working staff, volunteers and Chamber members for their efforts on behalf of the community and Marco Island businesses. Following that, City Council Chairman Jerry Gibson spoke movingly of the contributions of Marco Island businesses and the Chamber to the betterment of residents and visitors – and the unselfish dedication of many hours of volunteer labor for city causes. He commended the “Can Do” positive outlook embraced by Marco Island business.

Chairman Gibson performed the swearing–in ceremony for new President Kevin Donlan, and the incoming Board of Directors. Mr. Donlan is well known on Marco Island as general Manager of Publix in the Shops of Marco. In his acceptance speech Mr. Donlan amused the attendees by pointing out that he is looking forward to the job of President since he is “a great delegator”. He encouraged island businesses to continue serving the community.

In addition to President Donlan the Executive Board of the Chamber members are: Alan Brown (Immediate Past President), Nancy Carrington (President-Elect), Jacquie Koon (Secretary), Richard Shanahan (Treasurer) and Sandi Riedemann (Chamber Executive Director, and non-voting member).

Other 2012 Board of Director members are: Desiree Buhelos, Vip Grover, Tiffany Homuth, Denise Lewis, Joyce McFarland, Kim McIntosh, Pat Neale, Alex Parker, Rick Popoff, Wayne Rose, Jada Shigley, Dick Shanahan, Val Simon and Kristi Willems.

Class 2011 Leadership Marco graduates are: Desiree Buhelos, Jennifer Bullock, Michael Calow, Jennifer Edwards, Ted Forcht, Bill Green, Marilyn Honahan, James Hubbard, David Hyatt, Steve Josselyn, Mindy Marusiak, Lisa Nguyen, Katie O’Hara and Ben Russell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *