Wednesday, January 19, 2022

6th Annual Spirit Awards




The Rotary Club of Marco Island held its Sixth Annual Spirit of Marco Island Awards Dinner on Saturday, April 26, at the Bistro Soleil Restaurant

Honorees included: Al Bismonte, a member of the Noontime Rotary Club; Curt and Jacquie Koon, owners of CJ’s on the Bay; Ed and Kathy Miracco, volunteers with the Marco Island Historical Society; Allyson Richards, board member of the Greater Marco Family YMCA and Marco Island Charter Middle School; and Rosemary Wick, president of the Center for the Arts.

The Spirit of Marco Island awards are presented to individuals and organizations that are civically involved through their contribution of time, talent and financial support of community causes.

Each of the seven honorees were presented with their award in front of a crowd of 170 persons that included local dignitaries, family, friends and business leaders all of whom enjoyed a plated dinner, cash bar and silent and live auctions. All proceeds from

Rachel DeHanas presents the Spirit Award to Al Bismonte. SUBMITTED PHOTO

Rachel DeHanas presents the Spirit Award to Al Bismonte. SUBMITTED PHOTO

this event are used to support the Noontime Rotary Club of Marco Island’s College Scholarship Fund and local charitable causes.

This “Celebration of Community” event was sponsored by Jim and Allyson Richards; Al Bismonte; Lynne Minozzi; Marco Office Supply; Alan and Linda Sandlin; Gwyn Steiner; Bill and Karen Young; Rose Marina; Prem and Jeanne Advani; George Benson; Condee Cooling & Electric; Jack and Rachel DeHanas; Al and Myrna Diaz; Bruce Graev Financial Associates; Sue Itayam of SunTrust Bank; Mutual of Omaha Bank; John and Marie Scott; Summit Broadband; John Buchanan; Carolyn’s Counseling Center; Keith Dameron; DaVinci’s Restaurant; and Pat Ettensohn.

The Spirit Award winners were nominated by local residents and other civic organizations, and were ultimately selected by a committee of Rotary Club of Marco Island members.

The Noontime Rotary Club of Marco Island is a community and international service organization that takes great pride in acknowledging this year’s winners for their incredible contributions to our island paradise!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *